I thought I'd document this for the sake of other GPT admins that don't know of this (like I hadn't until a fellow GPT admin solved the mystery.)
I had one of my more active members on my GPT complain to me that hist pending offers figure was showing negative. I logged into his account and the above is what I saw - -72 (negative 72) pending offers (which makes no sense at all)
I posted about the dilemma on a popular GPT admin forum that I'm a member of and after some speculation a comment broke in to say that all I need to do is find and press the Products > Paid to Signup > Tools > 'Fix Signups' button (which is described in the admin panel as "Sometimes a when offers are deleted or moved around the amount of offers a user has in his pending or completed folder might be off. This will fix those problems")
I pressed the Fix Signups button and it instantly and neatly took care of the issue (the member's pending signups was reset back to zero) Now don't know what the problem was to make it go negative - all I know is that the button solved it.
Showing posts with label member. Show all posts
Showing posts with label member. Show all posts
Negative Pending Offers? Wow, I Learn Something New Every Day.
Get Rid of the Deceptive '[Main]' Offers Section
I don't know if many GPT admins have noticed this but if your offers list has a '[Main]' section then that means that you have at least one PTSU offer uncategorized. When all of your offers have been placed in its proper category then the main section disappears (and the default then shows 'All Items')
As a new GPT member long ago, I remember being fooled by the main section into thinking that a GPT had much less offers than it actually had (if only I had switched from the default (if present) 'Main' section to 'All Items' (where all offers show.))
My advice (if you ask)? Make sure that you classify all offers in their own category to avoid showing 'Main' as the default.
As a new GPT member long ago, I remember being fooled by the main section into thinking that a GPT had much less offers than it actually had (if only I had switched from the default (if present) 'Main' section to 'All Items' (where all offers show.))
My advice (if you ask)? Make sure that you classify all offers in their own category to avoid showing 'Main' as the default.
Effective Procedure to Purge Expired Offers from Your ShiftCode GPT - by Performa Network - One at a Time
Hello,
It's no secret that the connection between the ShiftCode GPT and the Performa Network occasionally fails to delete expired campaigns from the networks on the GPT site - thereby leaving an increasing number of expired offers in the GPT over time. This procedure (below) is an effective way to occasionally purge those expired offers and then add only the current active offers back - network by network:
Please note that this procedure is rather drastic (though easy and painless) and has the unfortunate downside of allowing GPT site members the opportunity (if so inclined) to possibly re-complete offer they had previously done and had already received credit for so (if they aren't properly keeping track) I would suggest that you only do this as a last resort rarely and sparingly!
It's no secret that the connection between the ShiftCode GPT and the Performa Network occasionally fails to delete expired campaigns from the networks on the GPT site - thereby leaving an increasing number of expired offers in the GPT over time. This procedure (below) is an effective way to occasionally purge those expired offers and then add only the current active offers back - network by network:
Please note that this procedure is rather drastic (though easy and painless) and has the unfortunate downside of allowing GPT site members the opportunity (if so inclined) to possibly re-complete offer they had previously done and had already received credit for so (if they aren't properly keeping track) I would suggest that you only do this as a last resort rarely and sparingly!
- Choose a time of the day when your GPT site is relatively slow or 'dead' with regard to member activity as any offers pending credit will lose their connection to the member that completed the offer (if a pending offer from the chosen network credits after this procedure - you will get credit but the member will not)
- Chose an Affiliate Network (Paid to Signup > Affiliate Networks) to perform the procedure on - Click on it. You will need to perform this procedure once on each Performa based affiliate network that you use on the GPT site.
- Click on Settings (click to expand) on the top of the network's page to reveal the network settings:
- Note the settings by writing them down or copy-n-paste them to notepad.exe (text editor) Make sure to highlight, select, and copy your 'Publisher Key' to the clipboard (or deposit it with the rest of the info into notepad.exe)
- Go back to the network listings (Paid to Signup > Affiliate Networks), and select 'Delete' on the right next to your chosen network:
- Next you will be presented with this question (below) to which you want to respond 'Yes' after which you will see a short message saying the offers are being deleted and then it will drop you back at the Affiliate Networks list. All of the offers for that particular network have now been purged from your system:
- Now we need to add the network back, configure the network settings, and then add only the active offers back. You do this by un-checking the 'Active Networks Only' checkbox (if checked), choosing 'Setup' next to the network you wish to add back, and entering (or pasting if you previously copied it to the clipboard) your 'Publisher Key' for that particular network, and saving it by clicking the 'Setup' box below:
- Now you will find yourself back at the network 'Settings' page. Make sure you select the correct 'Website' value from the dropdown box and then complete the rest of the settings while referring back to your previous settings (that you wrote down or saved to notepade.exe) Now click 'Update' (that particular network is back on your system now - but its offers are not (yet))
- Scroll down to add that network's offers back to your GPT (however you normally do) The offers you see now will ONLY be that network's current active offers (YaY!)
- Lather, rinse, and repeat the above procedure for all other Performa networks connected to your site ;-)
NOTICE OF SECURITY RISK AT GOTOP100.COM BASED SITES
If you have ever signed of for a top site list that is based upon
gotop100.com then please know that your password has been compromised.
One of the top site list admin accounts I have collected over the years is http://earn.gotop100.com/
(Earn Online Top Site List) and I just now noticed that in member
management when browsing member accounts then the idiots at gotop100.com
provide each member's password in clear text (no stars, just the actual
password)
I, myself, am not inclined to abuse this information
but if I was then perhaps I would be having a field day knowing
everyone's password. Hopefully you've had the discipline to use a
different password on each site you have an account at (or at the very
least you rotate several passwords between accounts)
Again, you don't have to worry about me or your account at http://earn.gotop100.com/ but please be forewarned NOT to use a recycled password at any gotop100.com based list site.
Show / Hide Content Depending Upon Whether or Not the Viewer is a Member or Guest
Simple Customizable Code Snippet:
{~if !$user.valid~} Hello Guest {~/if~}{~if $user.valid~} Hello Member {~/if~}NOTE: Notice the exclamation point before the "$user.valid" in the first statement.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)





